Creating Fog in Unity!

addam davis
2 min readJun 24, 2022

--

Objective: Create fog for your environment!

In this tutorial we are going to create a fog in our scene. I am using a particle effect I attained from Filebase. Feel free to use your own to follow along.

After importing your effect into your project, simply drag it into your scene.

The fog is pink, this is because we are using the HDRP. This is an easy fix, set the shader to Sprites/Default.

This pulls in the sprite texture

For mine, I adjust the start size to be a little larger than default. I settled for a little around 10.

This is starting to look really great, however, I am not currently making a tribute to Silent Hill. At least not yet anyways. We need to thin out this fog a little. Simply select the material and open the Tint and turn the alpha channel down low.

Now I want to give this fog an eerie green tint.

That is pretty much all there is too it. You can make further adjustments to fit your specific needs. Such as starting speeds, rotation, or colors. Remember, when it comes to VFX it can be easy to overdo it, so try to keep it simple, and I’ll see you in the next tutorial!

--

--