Level Design: Archways!

addam davis
3 min readApr 28, 2022

--

Objective: Create archways by combining assets.’

Welcome back developers. Today we are going to continue designing this environment. Today I am going to focus on creating an interesting archway for entering the main chamber. I am going to be using the same assets I used in the last tutorial.

I’m going to start from the bottom and build my way up.

Don’t forget you can use vortex snapping to “snap” your object onto the vortex of another object.

I’m going to duplicate this column and place it on the opposite side.

From here we can start building the cross member.

I’m going to use fill this gap using the tops of columns to make a neat looking center piece.

We have the shape now. I’m going to add just a few more detail pieces.

When you are finished adding the smaller details we can now turn this into a prefab!

Congratulations we have successfully turned-out assets into a work of art archways. Now our entryways can have these intricate pieces for our player to walk through. In the next tutorial we will be adding details to the ceilings and possibly a door. I’ll see you in the next tutorial!

--

--