Tile Palette Management 101 in Unity!

addam davis
3 min readNov 3, 2021

--

Objective: Create and organize multiple palettes.

In the last tutorial, we learned what Tilemaps are, and how to create a simple time palette. In this tutorial we are going to continue on with the palette making, how to add more sprites to a single palette, and good organizational practices to use while managing several palettes.

We are going to start by creating a new Tile Palettes.

I don’t expect you to have the same sprites that I have however you can still follow along. I have three different sprites for caverns and I want to add them all to the same palette. So I’m naming this palette “Cavern Collection” Save this to the palette folder we created in the previous tutorial.

Using the same steps we learned from the previous tutorial we are going to slice three different sprites.

With the sprites sliced to our specified sizes we can grab one and drag it onto the palette.

Save these tiles assets under a new folder inside the Tile folder from the last tutorial. I named the new file Cavern Collection.

This is the point we left off on the last tutorial. However, I want to add those other sprites. All you need to do is zoom out a little on the palette and drag the next sprite next to the sprite in the palette.

Save the new tile assets into the same folder as the other sprite.

I have one more sprite to add.

Now we know how to add several sprites to one palette. This will make painting our environment easier with having similar sprites together. In the next tutorial we will cover managing several Tilemaps! Don’t be afraid to experiment with your palettes and I’ll see you in the next tutorial!

--

--